Experience the power of a power hour

image

Join me, Alex from Scrimba, in the #⚡️powerhour Discord channel every weekday.

How to Power Hour
image

Every day, there are 4 sessions:

  • 11am-midday CEST 🇪🇺 | 5am-6am EDT 🇺🇸
  • 3pm-4pm CEST 🇪🇺 | 9am-10am EDT 🇺🇸
  • 7pm-8pm CEST 🇪🇺 | 1pm-2pm EDT 🇺🇸
  • 11pm-midnight CEST 🇪🇺 | 5pm-6pm EDT 🇺🇸

I suggest you add it to your calendar 📆, so you don't miss due to timezone issues)

Remember,

  • The #⚡️powerhour channel closes outside these hours
  • You should come prepared to share your screen - this way, you'll feel awkward if you, for example, procrastinate on Reddit 🐨
  • You can share your webcam, but you don't have to
  • We recommend you post a summary of what you'll be working on in the #⚡️powerhour-chat channel - this way, other people can learn what you're working on and can show their genuine interest

Also on this page,

How to join

Power hours take place in the Scrimba Discord server, which you, too, can join here!

Around 1000 GMT and 1700 GMT, we open up the #⚡️powerhour channel, which you can then join.

image

Remember to share your screen using this button,

image

Turn your webcam on if you want, too.

What should I do during the power hour?

Not every hour of the day needs “productive“ - in fact, quite the opposite. You just need to start with one. One distraction-free, highly focused hour where you work on an important task that moves you forward 💨

  • You could watch a Scrimba module,
  • solve Leanne from Scrimba's #WeeklyWebDevChallenge,
  • write a technical post,
  • or build a project for your portfolio

Whatever you decide, show up every weekday for a month, and you'll be shocked at how much progress you make 🤯

Turn off Discord noises

When someone connects to a channel on Discord, Discord plays a notification sound. It's kind of distracting, especially when you want to focus 🤔

To disable the sounds, first, go to User Settings

image

Then, Notifications then turn off sounds for User Join, User Leave, Viewer Join, and Viewer Leave

image

FAQ

Can I join both power hours?

Yes, of course!